AnnouncementsEye On 2020Local PoliticsPolitics

SCDP Announces Affirmative Action Committee Members for 2020 Delegate Selection Planning Process

(Columbia, SC) – Today the South Carolina Democratic Party announced the members of the National Delegate Selection Plan’s Affirmative Action Committee for the 2020 presidential election cycle.  The committee, required by the Rules and By-laws Committee of the Democratic National Committee, will ensure that the South Carolina delegation is diverse and inclusive.  

The Committee is comprised of 13 South Carolinians who represent the membership of the South Carolina Democratic Caucuses.  This committee also includes two County Party Chairs including our state’s first Hispanic County Party Chair, Mayra Rivera-Vazquez of Beaufort County.  

The Affirmative Action Committee duties include: assisting in developing a delegate selection process that will be inclusive, and to make sure the South Carolina Democratic Party communicates as to how an individual becomes a delegate in communities of color, in the LGBTQ Community, to persons with disabilities, and young people.  They will be responsible for outreach to these communities, and to ensure that every South Carolinian is included in the process.

We are excited to have Johnnie Cordero serve as the Chairman of this committee. Chairman Cordero has made it his life’s work to fight for the inclusion and representation of communities of color. We are honored to have Evelyn Lugo, who founded the SC Hispanic Chamber of Commerce to serve as Vice Chair. Finally, we are appreciative to have Ann Willbrand, President of the LGBTQ Caucus to serve as Vice Chair as well. Ann has been part of previous Delegate Selection processes and brings that experience to her service on this committee. 

Below is a full list of members:

Role By way of Name County
Chair Chairman of Black Caucus Johnnie Cordero Richland
Vice Chair LGBTQ Caucus Ann Willbrand Aiken
Vice Chair Hispanic Caucus Evelyn Lugo Horry
Member Rural Caucus Tangee Jacobs Fairfield
Member Black Women Caucus Christale Spain Richland
Member Hispanic Caucus Elias Valentin II Spartanburg
Member Volunteered to Serve Beverly Frierson Richland
Member Volunteered to Serve Delaine Frierson Richland
Member Single Parent Caucus Bridget Deline Richland
Member Senior Citizens Caucus & County Party Chair Ann Stevens-Brown Union
Member County Party Chair – 1st Hispanic County Chair Mayra Rivera-Vazquez Beaufort
Member Business Caucus Carlton Dallas Beaufort
Member Veterans Caucus William Lawrence Aiken
Member Disabilities Caucus Peggy Butler Lexington
Ex Officio 1st Vice Chair of SCDP Lessie Price Aiken
Ex Officio 2nd Vice Chair of SCDP Anthony Thompson Lexington
Ex Officio 3rd Vice Chair of SCDP Scott Thorpe Richland
Show More

The MinorityEye

The MinorityEye is a news and information aggregator that curates the voices, thoughts and perspectives of minority writers, bloggers, authors, reporters, columnists, pundits, consultants and thought leaders as well as those who write about minorities and issues that impact people and communities of color.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button