The Columbia Housing Authority Gets Four New Commissioners

(Columbia, SC) The Columbia City Council appointed four new members to the Columbia Housing Authority’s Board of Commissioners at its March 5th council meeting. The new commissioners are Ann Sinclair, Kara Simmons, James Chatfield, and Georgia Mjartan. The newly appointed commissioners will join current members Selena Pickens, George Green, and Ernest Cromartie. Cromartie currently serves as Vice Chair of the Board.

The election of the new commissioners comes on the heels of the January 18th shutdown of the Allen Benedict Court property by the Columbia Fire Department, due to the presence carbon monoxide. Two men, Derek Roper and Calvin Weatherspoon, tragically died at the property January 17th.

“We thank the Columbia City Council for its careful selection of our new commissioners to the Columbia Housing Authority board,” said Ernest Cromartie.“We welcome the new commissioners to the Columbia Housing Authority as we continue to move forward and serve the citizens of Columbia,” concludes Cromartie.

Executive Director Gilbert Walker, whose retirement is effective June 30, sees the new board as a positive sign for the agency as it continues to help residents and the community recover from the recent tragedy at Allen Benedict Court. “For many years, the Columbia Housing Authority has been THE leader in producing and providing affordable housing to people who need it most,” said Walker. “The need is greater now, than any other time in the agency’s 85-year history. We look forward to their contributions” concludes Walker.

Show More

The MinorityEye

The MinorityEye is a news and information aggregator that curates the voices, thoughts and perspectives of minority writers, bloggers, authors, reporters, columnists, pundits, consultants and thought leaders as well as those who write about minorities and issues that impact people and communities of color.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button