Todd Rutherford-and-Roger Kirby

Rep. Todd Rutherford re-elected as House Democratic Leader; Rep. Roger Kirby elected Assistant Leader

2 mins read

(Columbia, SC) – State Representative Todd Rutherford (D-Richland) was re-elected to his position as Minority Leader during a meeting of the House Democratic Caucus Tuesday morning.

“It’s an honor to be re-elected as the leader of the House Democratic Caucus,” Rutherford said. “We recognize the challenges ahead and we are ready to work harder than ever to protect our freedoms and move our state forward.”

Rutherford was first elected to the State House in 1998 and has served as Minority Leader since 2013. During his time leading Democrats in the State house, Rutherford has been on the frontlines of the fight to legalize medical marijuana, modernize state gaming laws to provide revenue for infrastructure and public education, and protect a woman’s right to choose.

Rep. Roger Kirby (D-Florence) was elected Assistant Democratic Leader, replacing Rep. Russell Ott (D-Calhoun) who did not seek re-election to the caucus leadership position. Kirby was first elected in 2014 and has been active in his community as the president of the Lake City Rotary Club, president of the Pee Dee Realtor Association, and the music minister at Lake City First Baptist Church. A native of Lake City, he represents House District 101 which includes Williamsburg, Florence, and Berkeley counties.

“Thank you to my colleagues for putting their trust in me as their new Assistant Leader,” Kirby said. “Rural communities in South Carolina need a voice and I am grateful for the opportunity to bring the issues facing these communities to the forefront this legislative session.”

Rep. Chandra Dillard (D-Greenville) was re-elected as Deputy Leader. Dillard was first elected in 2008 and currently serves on the House Ways and Means Committee, which plays an instrumental role in the state budget every year. A native of Greenville, Dillard works as the Director of Community Relations for Furman University. 

The following positions were also elected:

  • Rep. Jermaine Johnson (D-Richland), Secretary
  • Rep. Kambrell Garvin (D-Richland), Treasurer
  • Rep. Leon Stavrinakis (D-Charleston), Parliamentarian
  • Rep. Michael F. Rivers, Sr. (D-Beaufort), Chaplain

Michael Bailey, a trailblazer in the field of photojournalism and a profound political writer, possesses the exceptional ability to distill complex political issues into accessible narratives that resonate with readers of all backgrounds. As the vanguard of the editorial team, Michael not only serves as a new media correspondent but also showcases his distinct talent as a photojournalist. His portfolio is a testament to his expertise in crafting news stories and intimate profiles that vividly portray the cultural, social, economic, and political journeys of minorities, both in South Carolina and beyond. With a rich tapestry of experience spanning media, business, and politics, Michael has emerged as a highly regarded voice and a sought-after commentator, offering invaluable insights into the challenges faced by people of color.

Previous Story

Immersive Art Experience to Highlight Work of Artist-In-Residence

Terrence -Culbreath
Next Story

Former Johnston, South Carolina Mayor Terrence Culbreath passes away at 39

Latest from South Carolina Politics